top of page


In the mid-eighties, Joan Timmons and Shirley James were troubled by the lack of resources and opportunities available to African American youths in the South Dade area of Greater Miami.

These women saw a need and they wanted to effect change. What they had in common was a commitment to their community and a love for Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. Mrs. Timmons and Mrs. James identified 23 Alpha Kappa Alpha women willing to serve as a voice in the community.

Their goal was to work collaboratively to offer educational and cultural resources to families, provide positive role models to youth, serve as leaders in the community, and support each other in achieving personal and professional goals. 

Pi Delta Omega

On February 8, 1986, “Twenty Pearls,” a group of twenty-five women, were granted a charter to form the Pi Delta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.  Mrs. Timmons was the chartering president and the first President of Pi Delta Omega Chapter serving from 1986 to 1987. 

On April 4, 1987, the “First Fourteen” were initiated into Pi Delta Omega. Out of concern for babies having babies, the First Fourteen collaborated with the Dade County Children and Family Services Department and established programs and workshops to teach teen parents how to care for and raise their new babies while enhancing their self-esteem and developing job skills. 


Pi Delta Omega’s first “IVY BEYOND THE WALL” was charter member Margaret Polite.  Mrs. Polite was energetic and personable. Her success as the Chairman of the “Little Miss Fashionetta” event gave Pi Delta Omega greater visibility and a healthy respect within the community. It also rendered a substantial scholarship fund. While serving as Vice President, Mrs. Polite passed away in July 1988. 

October 7, 1993, Pi Delta Omega assumed the responsibility of graduate advisor to the undergraduate chapter of Iota Nu at the University of Miami. 

Pi Delta Omega’s membership continued to increase steadily: 

January 20, 1991      “Electrifying Eleven"

June 4, 1995             “Tenacious Ten” 
March 14, 1999         “Keepers of the Dream” 
Sept. 7, 2003             “13 Heavenly Gates” 

April 3, 2011              “Phenomenal Fourteen” 

December 6, 2015    "Eight Elements of Elegance"

November 20, 2016    Fall 2016

May 27, 2018               Spring 2018

May 16, 2021               Spring 2021

May 1, 2022                 Spring 2022

Pi Delta Omega has had 18 Presidents:  Rosbin E. Ivery, Sue M. Baety, Alexandria J. Holloway, Betty Mears, Ossie Hollis, Eva Harris Cofield, Carol Deliford, Elsie King Hamler, Mable Clarington, Cheryl Mattox Berry, Shawna F. Cleveland, Juliet King, Karen Harris Hawkins, Teresa Richardson Brown, Calondria E. Williams, Ann E. Walters-Pope, Bonita D. Cooper, and currently serving is Lynette Fahie.

At the regional level, Pi Delta Omega has had two Cluster Coordinators, Alexandria Holloway and Eva Harris Cofield, and and one Chairman of Regional Awards, Harris Hawkins.

Throughout the changing leadership in Pi Delta Omega Chapter, the consistent thread has been service to all mankind and reclaiming members

In addition to supporting and sponsoring projects for the local community, each President has carried out the strands and targets as mandated by the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority International Office. 

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated is the oldest Greek-lettered organization established by African-American college-educated women. Pi Delta Omega Chapter is proud to add to its rich legacy through service and sisterhood.

bottom of page